Clemson University Wordmark

Spring, 1971. Faculty of the Department of Space Physics and Astronomy at Rice University. Front row left is David Arnett, who had taken his first faculty appointment at Rice in 1969. Also front row are Donald Clayton, F. C. Michel (looking to his left) and Paul Cloutier (who has just launched a space vehicle, above Michel); R. A. Wolf (second row at left of photo) was another Caltech Kellogg Phd who made several important contributions to nuclear astrophysics; Chair Ronald Stebbings barely shows behind Clayton; John Freeman (between Clayton and Michel). Michel and Clayton were two of the initial faculty in 1963 when this department was created (as Dept of Space Science).

These pages are maintained by the Astrophysics Group at Clemson University.
Department of Physics and Astronomy © 1999. All rights reserved.