Clemson University Wordmark

1974 group photo of Rice University Department of Space Physics and Astronomy at the peak of its golden era in nuclear astrophysics. The leader of that group, Donald Clayton, stands fourth from right, between Alex Dessler (Chair) and F.C. Michel. In Clayton's group are Ray Talbot (front, left of Dessler), H. C. Goldwire (Clayton's first PhD student,front right end), Mike Newman (3rd row sunglasses above Talbot), Eli Dwek (3rd row above Michel), Kem Hainebach (4th row right end). Stan Woosley and Richard Ward had already departed for postdocs at Caltech. Also notable for nuclear astrophysics are Richard A. Wolf (5th row 3rd left) and Don Ellison (5th row 5th left).

These pages are maintained by the Astrophysics Group at Clemson University.
Department of Physics and Astronomy © 1999. All rights reserved.